Oops! Time for an update.

I have been so bad at updating this the past few weeks…sorry! The truth is that not much has really happened. Ok, that’s a lie…plenty has happened, but nothing that I’m not familiar with now that this is my second child (and fifth pregnancy).

First things first…I am officially in the 2nd trimester! WA HOO! I’m about 18 weeks now, and my anatomy scan is in two days. I’m nervous, as I always am going into a scan; I’m always worried that something will be wrong. Also hoping to find out the sex of this little bambino/bambina! We have our names picked out, and I’m getting antsy about finding out what it is…and seriously, if my doc can’t figure it out on Thursday, I’ll have to wait until the end of July for another shot! JULY! So there’s that.

My belly popped, finally. I am carrying much smaller than with Teddy, but I’m also much smaller in terms of my weight so I guess that’s no big surprise. Another fun thing about moving into the 2nd tri is that I’m no longer sick 24/7, and I’m no longer on progesterone suppositories that make it even worse. What this means is that I’m able to be active again! I’ve been doing the elliptical (slowly) about four or five days a week, doing light yoga and light free weights after as well. It feels GOOD. Of course, it was too late to ward off some weight gain thanks to the first trimester from Hell…but I’ll take what I can get. My hips are awful, but if I adjust them throughout the day it’s not unbearable.

And the biggest news of all: WE HAVE MOVEMENT! It started as flutters, but barely. I honestly think I felt flutters maybe once or twice. Next up was stretches…it felt like my baby was a swimmer, kicking off of the pool wall to start another lap. I do NOT remember that with Teddy! Now it’s stretches and pitter patters and stomach-turning flips. Please stop flipping, little baby, we would like your cord to stay in one place. Baby likes to flip the moment I start moving on the elliptical, which is in turn both cute and absolutely nauseating. I still use my doppler every night because a.) German OBs don’t let you hear the heartbeat until like…third trimester, so this is my only chance to actually hear it and b.) the movement still isn’t frequent enough to completely put me at ease.

So that’s that! In other fun news, we switched to a different “VPN” method and can now watch huluplus and US netflix on our tv sets. GAME CHANGED. Thank goodness, too, because I need my trashy US tv show fix. 😉

2 thoughts on “Oops! Time for an update.

    • It’s such a weird sensation! The first five minutes or so give me something very similar to sea-sickness. After a bit I get used to it, though. He/she also loves the exercise ball!

Leave a comment